Friendship! :)

“Let us be grateful to people who make us happy, they are the charming gardeners who make our souls blossom.” ~Marcel Proust

I’m guessing that when you think of the word “friend” there is someone who almost instantaneously pops into your head?… Am I wrong? Perhaps it takes some of us a little longer to think of somebody. Some of us are lucky enough to meet someone the first day of Kindergarten and grow up with their friend(s) all through childhood and into adulthood! Others either move away from their friend or struggles came in between friends and they decided that maybe that particular friendship wasn’t meant to last. My hope is that you can think of at least one person whom you consider your friend! 🙂

Google’s definition of friend is the following: A person whom one knows and with whom one has a bond of mutual affection, typically exclusive of sexual or family relations.

Now I personally think that definition is kind of bland… my definition of a friend(s) is the following: A special and unique individual that walks into your life at some point when the rest of the world seems to walk out. It’s someone who knows what to say, how to say it, and knows exactly what not to say. Someone who can see pain behind the eyes, someone who celebrates your special days with you, someone who cries with you when the world seems to end, someone who loves you exactly the way you are without having to change a thing, someone who laughs with you, not at you (except for joking purposes 😉 ), someone who would do just about anything to make sure that you were happy, someone who makes mistakes and always admits to making them, someone who is honest, someone who gives as much as they receive, and most of all someone who that when you hang out with them, the rest of the world doesn’t really seem to matter because you’re with the one(s) who matters most!

Now of course, my definition was ten times longer but today you should ask yourself, “What’s my definition of a friend?”

Do my friends or friend meet the expectations that I have for myself?

Do I have people who I know support me?

Do I have someone I can go to when I feel down?

Are the people I pick as friends good to me? Do they respect who you are?

Do my friends have the best influence on me possible? 

Think about it! 🙂 Friendship is one of life’s greatest gifts, so make great use of all the people there are in this world to befriend! 🙂 Know that my blog is my way of being your friend! 🙂

” A friend is a gift you give yourself.” ~Robert Louis Stevenson

Leave a Reply

